Model assessment · Blueair

Blueair PetAir Pro review

A low-profile purifier with an integrated pet-resting bed, removable fur box, particle and TVOC sensing, and a published 271-ft²-at-4.8-ACH room figure; the manual specifies manual fur-tray and pre-filter care.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Low-profile Blueair PetAir Pro purifier with an olive-gray quilted pet resting bed on top
Blueair studio render of the exact PetAir Pro, linked from its U.S. product page. The picture includes an editorial “Pet Parent Must Have” badge and is not a field photograph or performance result. Blueair
A useful fit for

A household with a pet that uses a dedicated resting spot may prefer a purifier that incorporates a small bed and fur-collection box instead of a conventional upright shell. Its current Blueair page rates it at 271 ft² at 4.8 ACH, so use that rate-specific figure for an enclosed room and plan for its 23-by-14.9-inch floor footprint.

The main tradeoff

The bed is a distinctive way to bring the purifier close to where a pet rests, but it takes over a floor-level resting spot, does not clean the floor or textiles, and still requires manual fur-box emptying, pre-filter brushing/vacuuming, bed spot-cleaning and cartridge replacement. Blueair's page advertises pet use up to 25 lb while the manual warns that objects placed on the appliance should stay under 1.1 lb to avoid accidental Smart Mode activation; that is not stated as a structural load rating, so get manufacturer clarification when weight-related use is essential. Its larger 1,301-ft² one-hour claim is not a substitute for the 271-ft² repeated-cleaning rating.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Must the purifier itself provide a pet resting bed rather than simply sit near a separate bed?

The PetAir Pro's U.S. offer includes a Quilt Bed integrated into the purifier top, so the unit itself can be a pet rest surface. Blueair says it is intended for pets up to 25 lb, while the manual separately warns that objects over 1.1 lb may accidentally activate Smart Mode; if a specific pet-weight support limit is essential, confirm the manufacturer’s interpretation before relying on it.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a removable box for loose pet fur at the purifier intake?

Yes. The manual shows a removable bottom fur box that the user empties. A soft brush/vacuum for the pre-filter is not included, and the box still needs routine manual emptying.

Explore this need in the finder →
Should the purifier quiet itself when it detects a pet using the bed?

Blueair's manual says Smart Mode responds to air quality and pet weight, and enters Silent Mode with the interface locked while a pet lies on the bed. The product page calls this Pet Mode, but the manual names Smart Mode and a separate Pet Lock button; it is not the same as a fixed fan-cycle Pet Mode.

Explore this need in the finder →
How large a pet must the bed be advertised to support?

Blueair advertises PetAir Pro for pets up to 25 lb. Its manual's separate 1.1-lb object warning is about preventing accidental Smart Mode activation and is not phrased as a structural load rating. This is a manufacturer-stated pet-size claim, not an independent load test.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will the PetAir Pro meet its 4.8-ACH room claim for a small enclosed room?

Blueair lists 271 ft² at 4.8 ACH. The separate 1,301-ft² figure describes a one-hour, much slower cleaning interval; it is not the same room-rate comparison.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does PetAir Pro offer Smart Mode, particle/TVOC sensing and a separate Night setting?

The manual describes Smart Mode using air-quality and pet-weight inputs, particle/TVOC sensing, and a Night Mode as a separate selectable setting. It does not document the pet-presence Silent response and Night mode running simultaneously. On-unit feedback is qualitative rather than a numeric PM2.5 reading.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a specialty Pet Allergy, smoke/cooking or allergen replacement cartridge available?

Blueair's exact replacement page lists one PetAir Pro Particle & Carbon replacement cartridge. The sources do not establish a separate named Pet Allergy, AllergenBlock or SmokeBlock option for this model.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must pet-presence-triggered quiet response and Night mode work in the same operating arrangement?

No simultaneous arrangement is established. The P3i manual identifies Smart and Night as different fan settings. Its pet-on-bed Silent Mode response occurs while Smart Mode is selected; choose PetAir for either documented behavior, but not for a sourced claim that both operate at once.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Blueair PetAir Pro combines a low purifier body with a pet-resting surface and a removable box for loose fur. That differs from an upright air cleaner with only a pet-oriented filter. Blueair rates it for 271 square feet at 4.8 air changes per hour (ACH). Its separate 1,301-square-foot, one-hour claim is slower turnover, not a substitute for that repeated-cleaning figure.

A purifier that occupies a pet’s resting place

The U.S. standalone package includes one purifier, a Quilt Bed and a Particle & Carbon main filter; Scratch and Dream beds are separate accessories. Blueair advertises it for pets up to 25 pounds. The manual separately warns that objects placed on the unit should stay below 1.1 pounds to prevent accidental Smart Mode activation. That is not stated as a structural weight rating, but owners relying on a particular animal-weight limit should ask Blueair how to apply it; this is not independently load-tested furniture.

The body is 23 inches wide, 14.9 inches deep and 9.8 inches high; listed product weight is 18.9 pounds. It is low but broad, so it needs a stable floor position with airflow around its intake and outlet. The manual calls for at least four inches from nearby objects. Avoid a narrow cubby or a place where a wall or blanket blocks airflow.

Use the room figure at the rate it names

The 271-square-foot figure is the stated 4.8-ACH room rating. Blueair separately says the purifier can clean up to 1,301 square feet in an hour; use that only as a much slower turnover claim. Leave room-size margin for open doorways or high ceilings. The manufacturer lists separate CADRs—187 CFM pollen, 176 dust, 175 smoke—not one universal value.

Blueair advertises H13 HEPA media and five filtration stages; those are manufacturer claims, not an independent performance test. The serviceable parts are a removable fur box, pre-filter module and replaceable main cartridge. Hair that misses the intake, plus fur on upholstery and floor dust, still needs ordinary cleaning.

Smart Mode is more than a fan-speed shortcut

The manual names three numbered speeds, Smart Mode and Night Mode, with local buttons and app control. The product page says “Pet mode,” but the manual describes Smart Mode responding to air quality and pet weight. When a pet lies on the bed, it enters Silent Mode and locks the interface; after the pet leaves it resumes air-quality adjustment. A separate Pet Lock button manages the lock. This is not a fixed high/medium Pet Mode cycle.

The manual identifies PM1, PM2.5 and PM10 sensing plus a TVOC sensor. On-unit feedback is qualitative; it does not document a numeric PM2.5 display. TVOC sensing does not identify a particular chemical or prove an odor source is gone. Night is a separate selectable mode from Smart; do not assume the pet-presence Silent response and Night mode run together. The hardware also offers local controls and Wi-Fi/app features, so it is not manual-only.

The fur tray still creates a care routine

Emptying the bottom fur box is still manual. Switch the unit off and unplug it, slide out the box and dump it; use a soft brush or vacuum brush on the pre-filter (not included). Blueair support says to spot-clean the bed with mild soap and warm water, then air-dry fully. Do not machine-wash, bleach or soak it.

The dedicated replacement is a PetAir Pro Particle & Carbon cartridge; the exact page does not list Pet Allergy, smoke/cooking or AllergenBlock choices. The manual calls the main filter nonwashable and nonrecyclable, recommends nine to twelve months, and says to follow its red indicator. On replacement, unwrap and orient the cartridge as marked, then hold Fan Speed and Pet Lock for 15 seconds to reset the light.

Who should compare another pet purifier

Choose PetAir Pro if an integrated resting spot, loose-fur box and pet-presence quiet response will be used. If you want pre-filter care without an appliance-bed, compare Levoit Vital Pet Pro: its scraper moves debris from a washable screen to a separate tray, it is rated for 229 square feet at 4.8 ACH, and it has no integrated bed. PetAir Pro’s rated area is somewhat larger, but room fit and floor footprint matter more than the one-hour headline. Neither replaces ventilation or surface cleaning.

Sources: Blueair’s PetAir Pro U.S. product page, its P3i user manual, the PetAir support and care page, and the PetAir Pro replacement-filter page. The displayed product image is a Blueair studio render with an editorial “Pet Parent Must Have” badge, not an independent room photograph or performance result.

Key details at a glance

Room area at 4.8 ACH (stated or calculated)271 sq ft
Published room area at 1 air change per hour1301 sq ft
Published rated input power36 W
App controlYes
Body width23 in
Body depth14.9 in
Body height9.8 in
Published product weight18.9 lb
On-unit numeric PM2.5 displayNo
Included Pet Allergy Filter with ARC FormulaNo
On-unit lock for accidental control changesYes
Turbo fan settingNo
Automatic pre-filter scraper and dust trayNo
Separate TVOC sensorYes
Manufacturer filter-check/replacement guidanceThe manual recommends a 9–12-month replacement interval and says to follow the red replacement indicator. The product page calls the monitored life up to one year; real air conditions and use still matter.
Placement and careTurn off, unplug and let the unit stop before maintenance. Remove and empty the bottom fur box; use a soft brush or vacuum brush on the pre-filter (brush not included). The main filter is nonwashable and nonrecyclable according to the manual; replace it when the red indicator appears, remove the new filter's plastic wrap, reinstall it in the marked direction and hold Fan Speed plus Pet Lock for 15 seconds to reset. Spot-clean the removable bed with mild soap/warm water and let it air-dry; Blueair support says not to machine-wash or bleach the bed.
Purifier also has a documented circulation-fan functionNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Check the room rating against your actual space.

Compare room-area figures at 4.8 air changes per hour, then check their stated or calculated basis, placement and filter care.