On this page
Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Will a 395-square-foot rating at 4.8 ACH meet the room minimum?
The exact product page says a 395-sq-ft room is refreshed in 12.5 minutes; a 396-sq-ft minimum exceeds that claim.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you want automatic fan adjustment without assuming a particular sensor type?
The manufacturer documents IntelliSense Auto and says it adjusts 60 times per minute, but does not name the sensed particle or gas class.
Explore this need in the finder →Is sensor Auto more important than a fixed shutoff timer or a dedicated Night mode?
The exact product page lists Auto and Sleep but no timer or dedicated Night mode. The Sleep control must not be used to satisfy a Night-mode requirement.
Explore this need in the finder →
Image source and model notes
The GermGuardian AC9600W is the console in this group for shoppers who would rather use an air-quality sensor and Auto speed changes than adjust the fan by hand all day. Guardian says its IntelliSense monitor checks the air 60 times each minute and automatically adjusts fan speed. Its stated room claim is 395 square feet at 4.8 air changes per hour, with a separate 1,913-square-foot figure at one change per hour. The model’s value depends on that combination of a clearly larger repeated-cleaning area and hands-off operation; it does not include a timer or app control.
Room rating and what the display does not establish
The page lists CADR of 255 CFM for smoke, 267 for dust and 271 for pollen. These are manufacturer-published values, not independent measurements. As with the other models, the 395-square-foot/4.8-ACH figure is the useful frequent-cleaning comparison. The 1,913-square-foot hourly headline uses a slower basis. A large connected floor plan or a high ceiling may not behave like a single room at the same stated area, and the manufacturer claim is not a guarantee for every installation.
The exact page names an air-quality sensor and says it controls Auto, but it does not identify a numeric particle class or say that the front display reports PM2.5. The picture shows a front display; a visible screen alone is not enough to infer what is measured or which units it uses. Treat Auto as a documented convenience, not as proof of TVOC, CO2, odor or every-pollutant sensing. If a particular sensor type is essential, the manufacturer needs to confirm that type before this model can be counted as a match.
Auto, Sleep and manual speed are different controls
The exact product page and linked AC9600 manual support four speed choices, Auto, Sleep, UV and child-lock controls. The collection title describes the unit as a three-speed model, so the label is inconsistent; the detailed product page lists four speeds and the manual’s control diagram supports the fourth, Auto arrangement. This review uses the documented four speed choices while keeping the discrepancy visible. Sleep dims the display and runs the fan quietly; it is not the same as a dedicated Night mode label and it does not provide a timer. The spec table says no auto-off timer, so the finder should not count Auto as timed shutoff.
Guardian lists 55 dBA on high and 32 dBA on low. These are manufacturer figures rather than room measurements. If you need the fan to shut off after a fixed period, or you want an app, choose a different model. For someone who values sensor response and a quieter Sleep setting, the local panel provides the necessary modes without an app. The product page does not state the sensor type or a numeric on-unit PM2.5 reading; those specific needs remain unconfirmed.
Filter, bulb and physical placement
The AC9600 uses Filter K (FLT9400) and the LB9000 UV-C bulb. Guardian describes true HEPA filtration, odor reduction and a separately selectable UV-C feature; the exact page and manual identify the lamp controls and service parts. It lists a three-year limited warranty and describes a Zero Ozone verification statement. The collection title and a product-page field disagree over the stage count, so I would not make a purchase decision based on a precise number of filtration stages. A UV-C lamp needs periodic replacement and care; disconnect power and use the model-specific manual rather than guessing at service steps.
The cabinet is listed at 26 inches high, 13 inches wide and 13 inches deep, weighing 17.7 pounds. It is not a small tabletop unit, and the manufacturer says to keep the intake and outlet clear. Place it where it can stay rather than expecting to carry it around frequently. The exact model is not smart-home enabled, and no app is listed. Filter reminders and local controls are useful, but they do not remove the ongoing cost or work of changing the cartridge and lamp.
Where it fits in the console lineup
The AC9600’s strongest difference from the AC5900 and AC9200 is Auto sensing. The AC5900 gives a 365-square-foot 4.8-ACH claim, a timer, UV-C and a selectable night light, but no sensor-driven speed adjustment. The AC9200 is rated at 335 square feet at 4.8 ACH, has a six-hour timer and an optional ionizer, but likewise lacks Auto. The AC9600 gives the largest 4.8-ACH room claim of these three, adds Auto and Sleep, and removes the timer. The AC5109W is another sensor model with a documented particle sensor and numeric PM2.5 reading, but its room claim and controls differ; the AC9600’s sensor type remains unknown in the exact sources reviewed here.
Choose the AC9600 if a 395-square-foot repeated-cleaning claim, automatic speed changes and a quieting Sleep setting form the operating plan you want. Do not choose it just because the page says air-quality monitor if your requirement is a specific gas or particle sensor, a numeric PM2.5 display, a timer or app control. Its useful feature is automatic response, and its material limit is that the exact sensor details are not stated.
Sources: Guardian Technologies’ AC9600 product page, official offer record and linked AC9600 User Manual (REV1025, especially pp. 1 and 4–5). Coverage, CADR and noise are manufacturer statements, not independent tests.
Key details at a glance
| Room area at 4.8 ACH (stated or calculated) | 395 sq ft |
|---|---|
| Published room area at 1 air change per hour | 1913 sq ft |
| Clean air delivery rate (CADR) | 255 CFM |
| App control | No |
| Body width | 13 in |
| Body depth | 13 in |
More specifications and setup details
| Body height | 26 in |
|---|---|
| Published product weight | 17.7 lb |
| Included Pet Allergy Filter with ARC Formula | No |
| On-unit lock for accidental control changes | Yes |
| Automatic pre-filter scraper and dust tray | No |
| Manufacturer filter-check/replacement guidance | Use the exact AC9600 model manual and filter label; no replacement interval is inferred here. |
| Important specification note | 395 sq ft at 4.8 ACH; separate 1,913-sq-ft one-change-per-hour claim. Exact page/manual support four speed choices; collection/title says three. Sensor type and numeric PM2.5 readout remain unknown. |
| Placement and care | Auto adjusts the fan from air-quality sensing; Sleep is separate from a dedicated Night mode. No auto-off timer or app is documented. |
| Built-in bipolar ionizer | No |
| Local ionizer on/off control | No |
| Purifier also has a documented circulation-fan function | No |
| Built-in heating mode | No |
| Fan-driven cooling mode | No |
| Cooling mode is air conditioning | No |
| Separate adjustable fan in exact offer | No |
| Separate appliances in box | 1 |
| Separately switchable UV-C lamp | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Check the room rating against your actual space.
Compare room-area figures at 4.8 air changes per hour, then check their stated or calculated basis, placement and filter care.