Model assessment · Philips

Philips 800 Series Compact Air Purifier review

A compact purifier with 93 CFM particle CADR, a 144-square-foot NRCC claim, particle Auto and a color air-quality ring; Philips does not state a 4.8-ACH area.

Sources checked 2026-10-25 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

A useful fit for

A small-room shortlist option when local particle Auto, a color-only ring and HEPA filtration are enough, and the 144-square-foot NRCC claim is not being mistaken for a 4.8-ACH rating.

The main tradeoff

It lacks a documented app connection and active-carbon stage; its exact replacement-filter code is inconsistent across current U.S. page/support materials, so verify compatibility before ordering.

On this page

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does AC0820/40 automatically respond to particles, and is a color ring enough feedback?

Yes. Philips identifies a PM2.5 particle sensor, Auto mode, and a color ring. The purifier does not display a numeric PM2.5 value on the unit.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I use its physical buttons and Sleep mode without requiring a numeric air-quality display?

Yes. The manual shows local mode controls and Sleep, while the air-quality indicator is color-only. A numeric on-unit PM2.5 value is not documented.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does the Philips 144-square-foot figure prove a minimum 4.8-ACH room fit?

No. Philips labels that room figure NRCC without an ACH basis. If 4.8-ACH capacity is essential, this model’s matching value is unknown and should not pass the room-size threshold.

Explore this need in the finder →

The basic 800 is the simpler of two very similar purifiers

Philips sells the U.S. 800 Series Compact Air Purifier as model AC0820/40. Its official page gives the same compact headline that appears on the nearby 800i: a 93 CFM particle CADR and a 144-square-foot room figure. The useful difference is not more room coverage in the 800i. It is the filter and the connection layer. This AC0820 listing says HEPA filter; the 800i adds active carbon and Wi-Fi through the Air+ app.

That makes the AC0820 a reasonable fit when you want a small unit with local buttons, automatic particle response and a simple color ring, and you do not need the documented phone connection or a carbon odor stage. It is not a better choice merely because its name leaves off the “i.” The exact 4.8-air-changes-per-hour room rating is not published on the page, so the 144-square-foot claim is not a firm match for someone who needs a specific repeated-cleaning rate.

Read its room and CADR numbers as different claims

The Philips specification table labels 144 square feet as an NRCC room-size value, and lists a 93 CFM CADR for particles under its GB/T basis. Neither entry supplies a 4.8-ACH area. The product page also promotes removal of 99.5% of particles down to 0.003 microns; that is the manufacturer’s filtration claim, not a measurement of the air in your own room and not a substitute for enough clean-air delivery. I leave the 4.8-ACH, one-ACH and two-ACH fields unknown rather than converting a generic room-size number into one of them.

Use the 93 CFM figure as a published comparison, while checking what standard a competing purifier uses. If your room must meet a strict 4.8-ACH threshold, choose a model with that specific area documented. The ordinary finder’s personal-room option is not a shortcut around that requirement: it still asks for a 4.8-ACH value and this product does not have one confirmed.

Local Auto and a color ring, not a numeric display

The U.S. manual names Auto, Turbo and Sleep modes. The two manual speed settings are Sleep and Turbo; Auto is an additional sensor-driven mode. The page identifies a PM2.5 particle sensor, and the manual explains its four color bands. The unit tells you air quality by color; it does not show a numeric PM2.5 concentration at the purifier. If you want automatic particle response and consider a color indicator enough, those needs fit the documented plan.

The buttons on the unit make the operating modes available without an app. The AC0820/40 page and manual do not establish phone-app control, so I do not treat silence as proof that the app is absent. If you require a confirmed app connection, this exact model does not satisfy that hard choice; the 800i’s U.S. page explicitly lists Air+ connectivity. If you require a truly no-app appliance, status is still not confirmed here.

Filter identity deserves a checkout check

The manual’s product overview identifies a NanoProtect Series 2 filter, FY0194. Philips’s exact U.S. product-support card also lists FY0194/30 and says “up to 12 months.” But the current AC0820/40 product specification table names FY0900, and the page’s replacement-filter feature says FY0900 replaces the predecessor FY0194. These statements do not give a single unambiguous current part number. Before buying a replacement, use Philips’s compatibility listing for AC0820/40 and check the code on your installed filter rather than assuming the old and newer numbers are interchangeable.

Whichever compatible cartridge you buy, the manual says it is not washable or reusable. It asks you to wipe the filter surface every four weeks and clean the air-quality sensor every two months (more often in a dusty room). The red replacement warning can become a lock: if the filter is not replaced in time, the warning flashes and the purifier stops operating. Budget the recurring replacement, but do not assume an annual interval is guaranteed in every environment.

Size, sound and who should compare up

Philips lists a body about 9.84 inches across and deep, 14.44 inches high and 5.3 pounds. The product data gives 20 W maximum power, a 19 dB Sleep minimum and a 49 dB Turbo maximum. The same page’s sound note cites a particular test method, but does not state a dB(A) weighting; I would not use its 49 dB entry to pass a strict dB(A) noise cap. Higher fan output will also be more audible than Sleep, as the manual warns.

Choose the 800 when simple local operation and a smaller room are the priority, and a generic 144-square-foot claim is only a rough starting point. Step up to the 800i if you need a documented app connection or want a carbon stage; choose a larger, well-documented purifier if the room requires a known 4.8-ACH area. The 800’s page-linked image is Philips’s AC0820/10 family view, so it is shown here as a representative manufacturer reference rather than an exact-suffix photograph. The review is about AC0820/40, not an assumed finish or a measured test unit.

Key details at a glance

Clean air delivery rate (CADR)93 CFM
Published rated input power20 W
Body width9.84 in
Body depth9.84 in
Body height14.44 in
Published product weight5.3 lb
More specifications and setup details
On-unit numeric PM2.5 displayNo
Included Pet Allergy Filter with ARC FormulaNo
Turbo fan settingYes
Manufacturer filter-check/replacement guidanceSupport tile says FY0194/30 lasts up to 12 months; page also names newer FY0900 as its predecessor replacement. Environment changes actual filter life.
Unqualified manufacturer room-size claim (no ACH basis)144 sq ft

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Check the room rating against your actual space.

Compare room-area figures at 4.8 air changes per hour, then check their stated or calculated basis, placement and filter care.