Model assessment · Shark

Shark BreatheClear with NeverChange Air Purifier HP162B2 two-pack (Dove) review

A two-unit current-reference offer of Shark BreatheClear HP162 Dove purifiers. Each device is listed for up to 750 sq ft at 1 ACH on maximum fan. The bundle suits separate rooms, not one 1,500-sq-ft room; bundle filter counts, faster-rate capacity and CADR are not established.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Two Shark BreatheClear HP162 Dove air purifiers shown in the HP162B2 two-pack manufacturer render
Exact SharkNinja HP162B2 bundle-page studio render showing two HP162 Dove units. Not independent or test photography. Accessory quantities are not inferred from the image. SharkNinja
A useful fit for

A household that genuinely needs two separate rooms equipped with the same HP162 BreatheClear purifier, with each room within its own 750-sq-ft-at-1-ACH maximum-fan basis, and values local display, motion/VOC sensing and manual operation. Not a one-room 1,500-sq-ft purifier or a confirmed fast-rate/CADR match.

The main tradeoff

Two units mean two outlets, floor spaces, local interfaces and washable debris screens. The bundle does not double one-room coverage. Its page lists component filter types without itemizing all bundle quantities; app linking, numeric PM2.5, strict TVOC, sound and faster-rate area remain unknown. Up-to-six-year HEPA life is an upper-bound manufacturer claim, not a universal replacement interval.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you need two independent purifier units in one purchase offer for two rooms?

The exact HP162B2 offer is titled a two-pack and shows two HP162 Dove purifiers. Each room keeps its own 750-sq-ft-at-1-ACH basis; the pair is not one larger purifier.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can each planned room accept the HP162 one-change-per-hour rating?

Shark states up to 750 sq ft at 1 ACH on maximum fan for each HP162. Faster area and CFM CADR are unknown.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would a two-unit bundle work for one single room requiring a 1,500-sq-ft 1-ACH rating?

No combined room rating is published. The two machines are separate room placements; do not add the 750-sq-ft component figures.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you require physical controls on each purifier itself?

The exact page documents manual fan selection and a local display for the HP162 component. This does not establish app availability.

Explore this need in the finder →
Should Auto respond to VOC/odor conditions as well as particle readings?

Shark describes VOC and particle information, VOC/odor sensing and automatic adjustment. A strict TVOC sensor identity is not stated.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is motion response helpful if a 4.8-ACH room figure is also essential?

The HP162 page confirms motion sensing, but 750 sq ft is stated only at 1 ACH. No 4.8-ACH area is confirmed.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is qualitative local feedback enough, or is numeric PM2.5 essential?

The high-resolution display gives air-quality, VOC and particle information; numeric on-unit PM2.5 concentration is not confirmed.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can each 10.3-inch-wide, 14.9-inch-high HP162 body fit its own spot?

Those are individual component dimensions, not the combined bundle footprint. Allow clearance and two placements.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can you accept a 50-watt sum if both 25-watt units run at rated input?

Each HP162 is listed at 25 W; 50 W is arithmetic for two units, not a published pack rating or measured consumption.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Shark BreatheClear with NeverChange HP162B2 is a two-purifier offer, not a 1,500-square-foot machine. Shark’s U.S. product page names the bundle HP162B2 and identifies the included purifier model as HP162 in Dove; the product image shows two matching units. Each HP162 has its own published room figure: up to 750 square feet in one hour at one air change per hour (ACH) on maximum fan. That can help when you have two separate medium rooms to cover, but the two numbers do not add up to one larger-room rating.

Two Shark BreatheClear HP162 Dove purifiers shown in the HP162B2 two-pack bundle render
Exact SharkNinja HP162B2 bundle-page render, visually inspected; two matching Dove purifiers are shown. This is manufacturer studio imagery, not field or performance-test photography. Original image source.

Plan two rooms independently

The natural use is one purifier in each of two rooms, such as a bedroom and an office, when both spaces fit the same one-unit conditions. Each machine needs its own outlet and an unobstructed floor location. The published 750-square-foot figure is tied to one ACH on maximum fan. It is a relatively slow comparison basis, not evidence of a 2- or 4.8-ACH rating. Shark does not publish a CFM CADR for the HP162B2 page we reviewed, so do not choose the pair for a fast-cleaning requirement by dividing or adding area figures.

Two separate sensors can respond to their own locations; they do not create a whole-home, centrally managed system. The reviewed sources do not document connected control linking both machines or a shared app dashboard. Keep the rooms’ shapes, doorways, ceiling heights, and normal fan setting in mind: an open plan or tall ceiling may behave differently from two enclosed rooms that each fit the advertised one-ACH area.

Useful local feedback, with limits

Shark describes a high-resolution LCD with live air-quality, VOC, and particle information. Its BreatheClear Auto mode can adjust the fan, and the page says the sensor scans air 3,600 times per hour. The separate HP162 feature description says motion sensing raises the fan when movement is detected and dims the display when you sleep. Those features may suit a bedroom or workspace where local feedback is easier to check than opening an app. The exact page also describes manual fan selection and a schedule that can include Sleep mode.

Those display claims should not be stretched into measurements they do not confirm. The official page does not establish that its particle information is a numeric PM2.5 concentration, and the word “VOC” is not enough to confirm a particular total-VOC sensor requirement. Phone-app control is also unresolved in the reviewed HP162 sources. If any of those are hard conditions, compare a purifier with an explicit manual/app or sensor specification rather than treating unknown as a pass. The product page does not show a clear linked operation between the pair, so plan on two local interfaces.

Filter life does not erase upkeep

Shark advertises its NeverChange HEPA-exceeding filter for up to six years and identifies a washable Debris Defense filter in the HP162 box contents. The “up to” period is a manufacturer claim, not a guarantee that every household can go six years without replacement. Washable debris screens still need attention; with two machines, expect two separate places to inspect and clean. The HP162B2 page lists a purifier, a HEPA Exceeding Filter, and a washable filter in its in-box section, but it does not clearly itemize quantities for the complete two-unit package. Confirm the delivered contents if having two replacement or spare components is essential.

The page lists 25 watts and 120 volts for the HP162 component. If both machines run at their individual rated input at once, 50 watts is the arithmetic sum; Shark does not state a separate package-wide power rating or measured energy use. Each component is listed at 10.5 inches long, 10.3 inches wide, 14.9 inches high, and 8.32 pounds. Those are individual body dimensions, not the combined footprint of the pair. Add the airflow space described in the instructions around each unit before deciding that either fits a tight shelf or corner.

When to choose the bundle instead of one HP162

Choose HP162B2 when you have two appropriate room placements and want the same BreatheClear controls, sensing, and filtration design in both. If you only need one room, the standalone HP162 avoids buying an unused second machine and keeps the same 750-square-foot-at-1-ACH ceiling for that room. If you need two units but prefer the smaller HP072 bodies, its HP072B2 package is a different compact option with a 250-square-foot one-ACH rating per unit. Shark’s HP152B2 is another two-unit offer, but it belongs to a different NeverChange setup with odor-neutralizer features; check its separate review for the distinctions and unresolved package details.

This is not a shortcut to one large purifier, a verified 4.8-ACH solution, or a confirmed phone-controlled pair. It is a practical bundle only when two independent rooms make use of the two HP162 units, their separate one-ACH room figures suit those rooms, and you can maintain two washable screens. For a fast-rate, exact noise, numeric particle-readout, strict TVOC, or app requirement, seek that evidence before choosing.

Read the single-unit HP162 assessment, or compare the two-room HP152B2 and HP072B2 bundles.

Key details at a glance

Published room area at 1 air change per hour750 sq ft
Published rated input power50 W
Body width10.3 in
Body height14.9 in
Published product weight8.32 lb
On-unit numeric PM2.5 displayNo
Included Pet Allergy Filter with ARC FormulaNo
Automatic pre-filter scraper and dust trayNo
Manufacturer filter-check/replacement guidanceThe main HEPA media is advertised up to six years. The family guide suggests cleaning the mesh Debris Defense screen around every eight weeks and fully drying it for 24 hours if rinsed; the exact suffix-to-guide bridge remains caveated.
Placement and careUse on a level, dry indoor floor; keep openings unblocked and preserve at least three inches of space from walls per the series guide. Initial sensor calibration can take up to 48 hours, with up to five minutes after later power-ons according to that manual viewer. Washable-screen maintenance remains necessary.
Purifier also has a documented circulation-fan functionNo
Built-in heating modeNo
Fan-driven cooling modeNo
Cooling mode is air conditioningNo
App can activate and set heatingNo
Built-in humidification modeNo
Unqualified manufacturer room-size claim (no ACH basis)750 sq ft

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Check the room rating against your actual space.

Compare room-area figures at 4.8 air changes per hour, then check their stated or calculated basis, placement and filter care.