Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Will the 5520 cover a medium room at the 4.8-ACH benchmark?
Winix gives it a 392-square-foot AHAM-verified room rating at 4.8 ACH with eight-foot ceilings. That clears the site’s 358-square-foot medium cutoff but not its 606-square-foot large-room threshold.
Explore this need in the finder →Is its larger one-hour room figure a reason to use it for a large room at 4.8 ACH?
No. The 1,882-square-foot statement is the one-hour example. The repeated-cleaning rating remains 392 square feet at 4.8 ACH, so a 606-square-foot 4.8-ACH requirement rules it out.
Explore this need in the finder →Should the 5520’s Auto mode respond to odor or fine particles?
The shared manual identifies an odorous-gas sensor and says Auto changes fan speed with the detected gas amount. It does not establish particle-responsive Auto; choose a particle-sensing model when that is essential.
Explore this need in the finder →Can I read a numeric PM2.5 value on the 5520 itself?
No numeric on-unit PM2.5 value is documented. The manual describes a blue/amber/red status light; that is color-only feedback, not a fine-dust measurement.
Explore this need in the finder →Can I use the unit without enrolling it in the app?
Yes. The manual documents on-unit power, Auto, fan, PlasmaWave and filter-reset buttons, and says software or firmware is not required for operation. Wi-Fi and the app remain available if you want connected control.
Explore this need in the finder →Does this model have a pet-specific replacement filter, or only general odor media?
The exact compatible part is Filter Q, with AOC carbon described for general household odors including pets. The replacement listing does not name a separate pet-specific carbon profile, so it does not meet that specialized-filter requirement.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the 5520 meet a strict 65-watt rated-input ceiling?
The exact page and shared manual list 65 W. That meets a 65-W cap but exceeds a 64-W cap; this is rated input, not a prediction of energy use in a particular Auto/Sleep routine.
Explore this need in the finder →Will its 13.59-inch body fit a 14-inch width limit?
Winix lists a 13.59-inch body width, which fits a 14-inch limit. Leave the manual’s recommended wall/electronics clearance too; body width is not the full operating space.
Explore this need in the finder →Can I require a minimum CADR in CFM from the published 252/247/253 table?
Not from that table alone. Winix lists dust/pollen/smoke CADR figures but does not state a unit there, so the strict CFM field remains unknown and cannot satisfy a minimum-CADR-CFM condition.
Explore this need in the finder →The Winix 5520 is a front-intake, Wi-Fi purifier for a medium room when you want washable pre-filtering, replaceable HEPA and carbon media, local buttons, and a color status light. Its exact U.S. page lists 392 square feet at 4.8 air changes per hour. That clears this guide’s 358-square-foot medium threshold, but not the 606-square-foot large-room requirement. The 1,882-square-foot figure is the one-hour example, not a substitute for its repeated-cleaning rating.
What changes when you choose a room size
Use the 392-square-foot area as a starting point for a closed room with an eight-foot ceiling, the basis Winix gives for its 4.8-ACH figure. Open doors, a tall ceiling, furniture, and the fan speed you can tolerate can change practical fit. The page’s 941-square-foot/30-minute and 1,882-square-foot/hour examples describe slower cleaning cycles, not the same 4.8-ACH room requirement. If a large room is essential, do not justify this model with the one-hour headline.
The same page lists dust, pollen, and smoke CADR figures of 252, 247, and 253 but does not state their units. Strict minimum-CFM matching treats those values as unknown rather than assuming CFM. The room rating remains the safer documented basis for the finder.
Odor sensing, not a numeric particle monitor
The manual is more specific than the page’s general sensor language: the Smart Sensor detects odorous gas, and Auto adjusts fan speed from that response. Auto can react to detected cooking odors, but the manual does not document response to smoke or particle concentration. The three-color indicator is a status cue, not a PM2.5 meter. If a numerical fine-dust reading is essential, choose a model whose exact manual documents that display, such as the distinct Winix T830; the 5520 should fail that requirement.
The 5520 does offer local controls as well as Winix Smart Wi-Fi/app control, and its product page lists Alexa support. You do not need to use an app for ordinary power, Auto, or fan operation: the manual says no software or firmware is required to operate the appliance. Its product table lists a timer in the Smart App, however, so don’t buy it for app-free scheduling. Winix does not publish timer increments on the exact page. The light sensor can lower the fan and dim lights in a dark room, returning the unit to Auto when light returns. That is an automatic Sleep behavior, not a set-and-forget room timer.
Three filter media, plus a switchable technology
Winix calls the system four-stage: a fine-mesh pre-filter, an AOC carbon module, a True HEPA filter, and PlasmaWave technology. The first three are the physical filter media; PlasmaWave is not a fourth replacement cartridge. The manufacturer describes the AOC stage as carbon pellets for general household odors and names Filter Q, SKU 1712-0123-00, as the replacement for 5510, 5520, and 5530. The cited page does not establish a separate PetGuard or SmokeGuard replacement profile for the 5520. Do not interpret general carbon language as proof that it solves a strong or constant odor source.
PlasmaWave has its own button and can be switched off. Winix publishes a chamber-test ozone result for the product, but that manufacturer-reported test is not an independent household exposure measurement. The manual does not classify the feature as an ionizer, so a buyer who needs a model confirmed to have no ionizing technology should not count the 5520 as a verified match merely because the feature is switchable.
Placement, sound, and upkeep
The rectangular body measures 13.59 by 8.27 by 22.17 inches. Those are body dimensions, not its full operating opening: the manual calls for 12–18 inches from walls and nearby electronics, a hard level surface, and unobstructed intake and outlet. Check the actual available floor space before measuring only the shell. Winix lists 65 watts and a 23.5 dB minimum, but no maximum noise level. The very quiet minimum does not tell you how loud it will be at higher speeds; the ceiling for an essential noise cap is unknown.
Setup is simple but not ready-to-run straight out of the box. Open the front, remove the pre-filter and take the main filter set out of its protective bag, then reinstall the HEPA at the back, carbon in the middle, and pre-filter at the front. The pre-filter is permanent; brush or vacuum it about every 14 days, rinsing only if especially dirty and letting it dry for at least 24 hours before reuse. The carbon and HEPA media cannot be washed. Winix estimates roughly 12 months for both and uses a filter-change indicator; reset it after replacing Filter Q. Actual life varies with the room.
Who should shortlist it?
Consider the 5520 when your room is within its medium-size 4.8-ACH basis, you want app access without depending on a phone for local operation, gas-responsive Auto, and a replaceable general-carbon/HEPA set. Choose another configuration if you need the larger-room tier, a numeric on-unit PM2.5 value, a documented maximum-noise ceiling, or published CFM CADR units. The T830 is a closer Winix comparison for a buyer who prioritizes particle-responsive Auto and numeric fine-dust feedback; the C535 is a smaller, non-app model with odor-responsive Auto, but its own room rating and filter system differ. None of these alternatives turns an air purifier into ventilation or a carbon-monoxide safeguard: Winix explicitly warns that this unit does not remove carbon monoxide. Follow the manual’s placement and maintenance instructions and handle the room’s source of smoke or persistent odor directly where possible.
Model identity: Winix 5520, U.S. product-page SKU 1022-0233-01. You can check the current product page and the shared 5510/5520 manual. The page and manual do not assign the paired 13.3/13.0-pound manual weight values to individual models; the 5520 weight is therefore left unconfirmed for strict matching.
Key details at a glance
| Room area at 4.8 ACH (stated or calculated) | 392 sq ft |
|---|---|
| Published room area at 1 air change per hour | 1882 sq ft |
| Room area at 2 ACH (stated or calculated) | 941 sq ft |
| Published rated input power | 65 W |
| App control | Yes |
| Body width | 13.59 in |
| Body depth | 8.27 in |
| Body height | 22.17 in |
| On-unit numeric PM2.5 display | No |
| Included Pet Allergy Filter with ARC Formula | No |
| Turbo fan setting | Yes |
| Automatic pre-filter scraper and dust tray | No |
| Manufacturer filter-check/replacement guidance | The manual says to clean the permanent fine-mesh pre-filter every 14 days, using a vacuum/soft brush and rinsing only if excessively soiled; after rinsing, dry it 24 hours or longer. The AOC carbon and True HEPA media are not washable and last approximately 12 months subject to room conditions. |
| Important specification note | The exact current product page and linked manual agree on the 392-sq-ft 4.8-ACH rating, 65 W and body dimensions. The CADR table values have no stated unit; maximum noise is absent. The page lists a 13.3-lb weight, but the shared manual gives 13.3 lb / 13 lb for 5510 and 5520 without assigning each value, so exact 5520 weight remains unknown for strict filtering. |
| Placement and care | Remove the main filters from shipping plastic and install True HEPA at the back, AOC carbon in the middle and washable pre-filter at the front. Vacuum or soft-brush the pre-filter about every 14 days; rinse only if especially dirty, without soap, and let it dry at least 24 hours. Do not wash the main filters. Replace both main media with Filter Q at about 12 months as room conditions warrant; reset the reminder after replacement. |
| Purifier also has a documented circulation-fan function | No |
| Built-in heating mode | No |
| Fan-driven cooling mode | No |
| Cooling mode is air conditioning | No |
| App can activate and set heating | No |
| Built-in humidification mode | No |
| DermaSense Skin Mode documented | No |
| Water refresher listed with offer | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Check the room rating against your actual space.
Compare room-area figures at 4.8 air changes per hour, then check their stated or calculated basis, placement and filter care.
